Action research

Research Plan

  • To help you get started with your question, think about the following open-ended statements to help you identify an area of interest for your Action Research Project.

  • I would like to improve my use of technology in the classroom so that is meaningful, well utilized and does not create a sense of panic/anxiety for me.

  • I am perplexed by time crunches, how to integrate technology in a school with little to no resources (with students from homes with little to no resources).

  • I am curious about how students can learn on different devices if not given the opportunity frequently.

  • I want to learn more about implementing BYOD and how to effectively manage it in the classroom.

  • Something I think would really make a difference having the access to different technologies through a board sharing/lending program.

  • Something I would like to do to change my own use of technology is to incorporate different techniques that I have never tried (more than scavenger hunts and presentations).

  • Right now, some areas I’m particularly interested in are BYOD, literacy development through technology, math supports.

 

Materials:

  • Devices (flexible- could be netbooks, iPads, computer lab)

  • Trial and error: social media sites, blogs, google docs, etc to establish what works and is easiest to monitor from various devices and locations

 

Types of information:

  • Notes (anecdotal) about each method of journaling

  • Research/study of how to use each method

  • “ “ on how to police/monitor/supervise the sites

 

A timeframe for:

Gathering information- 5-6

Researching and writing a Literature Review – 5-8 hours

Developing an Annotated Bibliography- 4 hours

Examining the various evidences: 4-5 hours

Writing up your investigation: 2-4 hours (including revising and editing)

 

 

 

 

Rationale

 

My question: What literacy strategy could I use that would allow students from a low socio-economic background to participate and gain experience with different devices while strengthening my classroom management of BYOD?

 

Right now, some areas I’m particularly interested in are BYOD, literacy development through technology, math supports because I am entering a year of EQAO. As a new teacher, I need to develop my instructional techniques and strategies to impact the student learning. To help use differentiation in my lessons having technology as a back up just makes sense. Students are able to pace themselves and regulate their learning by researching (or googling questions) without having to ask. Although I try to ensure student risktaking and having a “no stupid question” policy there are many students who still shy away from asking questions during lessons or after.

Investigating literacy strategies using Peel’s BYOD policy (Sept. 2013) will help me use the technology my small school has available but also will help me develop management strategies to monitor their use. Through using technology in the classroom (blogs, wikis) I hope to strengthen the literacy skills needed for EQAO (as that is where my school is a bit weak). I want to research different literacy methods that can be used for junior grades with limited devices/financial support within the school and at home.

I would love to work out a program that includes blogging to a shared area for each student to do journal responses. That way students can use limited resources that the schools has to complete the assignment and they can do it throughout the day on the classroom computer without having to complete the assignment at home or during designated computer times.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

