Reflection LE #3

I think the biggest issue for me was doing staff development as I just finished my first year teaching!

It is hard for me as a new teacher and a young teacher to understand why others haven’t jumped on the tech bandwagon to support student learning. Albeit, I am sure they think I am as green as the grass when it comes to everything else!

I think that sharing goals of learning, teaching and growing is vital to our discussions. We show support, give ideas, share our opinions in a way that encourages us to think creatively and outside the box when it comes to instruction. I think the constructive criticism can really help teachers grow and learn and the colleagues in the course do this for me and help me re-think and reframe my own preconceived notions about tech, curriculum, teaching strategies and how to be a leader at this point in my career.I love reading through the posts and the feedback. It really gives me a great insight and perspective on the assignments and how others are seeing them. Like I said, I’m green. Colleagues in the course have a variety of teaching backgrounds and share a lot of insight that I haven’t had the years of experience to gain yet. It is eye opening. I also love the interaction with FSL teachers, as I have been applying to a lot of FI schools and love to see the curriculum through the eyes of my potential teaching partners.

I would love to go back and go through even more from the special needs LE #2. I am really trying to improve my differentiation and ESL teaching strategies this year to help my students and my community. I think technology is a language that is global and we can all speak and use to formulate ideas, share resources and communicate in new ways.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

